New Jersey’s New Jersey Unveiled

Sorry about the title (no I’m not). When the NHL announced a new partnership with athletic clothing company Adidas, I was excited but also skeptical (for good reason). As a Devils fan, I love the team’s iconic logo and jerseys, and I was beyond afraid that Adidas would somehow mess them up. There was speculation that the Devils might return to their red-and-green past but the hints indicated that they would stick with the red and black (which I was completely okay with). I would be furious, however, if they touched the classic logo, one of the best in all of professional sports. You don’t mess with that. But lo and behold, what does Adidas do? Mess with the jersey.

It’s not horrible, it’s just… not great?

Here’s the super low-res image that was leaked online earlier tonight:

DCzXVeYUwAAsWZL.jpg-large

I thought I would wait for the high-res images before making any judgements but Adidas made that impossible. I hated it at first but after more and more images surfaced on Twitter and social media, I’m warming up to them.

636335627397457959-2017Andy-Greene-in-new-jersey636335627379205842-2017-Taylor-Hall-new-jersey

Let’s start with the nice jerseys, yeah?

I really, really like that the Avalanche are going back to old jerseys; they’re also a classic and I like them. And I like Vancouver’s and St. Louis’s jerseys too and I kinda like Edmonton’s? But other than that… *gags*.

hate Nashville’s almost solid yellow jersey. I really don’t like Vegas’s jersey which is unfortunate because I like their color combo. I was really hoping for purple jerseys for the Kings.

But I don’t like New Jersey’s jerseys. I don’t understand where the bottom stripe went. None of the new jersey changes make any sense to me. I’m glad they’re still red and black, and the logo was untouched but other than that, zip. That’s it.

I appreciate what they’re trying to do:

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 10.02.09 PM

And it looks better in some lights than others:

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 9.59.04 PM

But I don’t know if I would spend on one. Maybe down the road or if they go on sale but I just don’t know. I’m still waiting an all-black or a black-and-gray jersey with red and white highlights/accents; that is something I would buy the crap out of. Better keep an eye out for Reebok jersey sales, I guess.

Leave a Reply

